Josette Nunn from Yarram Early Learning Centre has been announced as a winner in the 2020 Victorian Early Years Awards for outstanding contributions in creating positive outcomes for children and families in the Yarram.

Member for Eastern Victoria Jane Garrett today announced Josette (Jo) Nunn won the award for Early Childhood Teacher of the Year among the seven category winners in the state.

The winners have been named across seven categories which focus on improving engagement in learning, supporting parents, building collaborative community partnerships, improving health and wellbeing, exemplary practice in early childhood education, leadership, and significant service improvement.

The awards showcase and celebrate the outstanding achievements of both individuals and organisations in the early childhood sector and acknowledges the important work being done to provide Victorian children with the highest quality start to life.

The winners were selected from 115 nominations received in 2020 across the seven categories.
This year’s winners were announced online on November 25, consistent with the coronavirus pandemic restrictions.

Winners of each category will receive a grant of up to $15,000 for professional development or to support their nominated initiative.

For the full list of winners, visit:

Quotes attributable to Minister for Early Childhood Ingrid Stitt

“Congratulations to the winners of this year’s Victorian Early Years Awards for their contribution to improving outcomes for Victorian children and their families.”

“These winners are leaders in the early childhood sector, exemplifying the hard work and dedication to provide the best opportunities and educational outcomes for children in the Education State, even during a global pandemic.”

Quotes attributable to Member for Eastern Victoria Jane Garrett

“Congratulations to Jo Nunn on being named as a winner in this year’s Victorian Early Years Awards and for being a leader in the sector not just in Yarram but across this great Education State.”

“These awards recognise the wealth of expertise, dedication and enormous contribution of those who work tirelessly in the sector to create positive educational outcomes for children.”